How to Not Eat Iodine

This January I am undergoing a radioactive iodine treatment as a diagnostic procedure. I won’t bore you with the details of why, but it is relevant to a food blog because this means I have to be on a low iodine diet for three weeks. So what has iodine in it you’re probably wondering. Well lots of foods but, long story short this means a vegan* diet with no soy and a few other things (complete list of what I can and can’t eat at the bottom). The other major bummer is that iodized salt and sea salt are commonly used in processed foods so I won’t be eating many processed foods either.

IMG_3144

If you are reading this because you’re looking for vegan recipes you can skip this next part.

IMG_3155

If you’re reading this because you also can’t eat iodine for a few weeks, and you’re wondering what you actually CAN eat, here are some things I learned last time I had to do this:

  1. Cheese is my favorite food (sorry, unhelpful self-pity).
  2. Beans/lentils (not canned) and nuts (unsalted of course) are good sources of protein (and basically my only sources for the next few weeks).
  3. There are lots of yummy ways to cook veggies.
  4. Pretty much all milk substitutes have sea salt in them L (almond milk recipe to come).
  5. Making bread isn’t too hard.
  6. Avocado with salt and pepper on bread is great, and so is peanut butter (unsalted of course) with honey.
  7. Popcorn is good with olive oil (even though its better with butter).

So for the next four weeks I will be posting about things to eat when you can’t eat iodine and how to prepare them. This includes staples like almond milk, bread, and how to rehydrate dried beans. I will also write some “what I ate today posts” and a lot of recipes that involve vegetables and chickpeas (#8: I love chickpeas).

IMG_3165        IMG_3159

Feel free to leave any questions in the comments below and thanks for going on this journey with me!

*maybe there is meat you can eat but I’m vegetarian so I can’t help you with that, sorry!

Low Iodine Diet (my summary of the list I received from my doctor):

-Don’t eat anything with iodized salt or sea salt (if it just says ‘salt’ assume iodized)

-Don’t eat out (you don’t know what type of salt they use)

-No dairy products (except egg whites, those are ok)

-No seafood

-Don’t eat anything with carrageen, agar-agar, align, or alginate

-No prepared or cured meats

-No fresh turkey or chicken with broth or additives

-Dried fruit

-Canned vegetables

-Commercial Bakery products

-Chocolate

-Molasses

-Soy products

IMG_3150.jpg

This entry was published on January 5, 2016 at 1:44 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

