Non-Traditional Chana Masala

I love chana masala!  I order it practically every time I get indian food.  Indian spices are warm and comforting to me and its been a long winter so I decided to search the internet for a recipe.  What I made is a combination of a few recipes I found and my own imagination.  It doesn’t really taste like the chana masala you get a restaurants but it is really good!  My recipe uses coconut milk which ads a creamy texture and peas because I love the ways peas pop in your mouth and thought they would go nicely.  Neither of these ingredients are traditionally used to make chana masala, but I think they work well anyways.

IMG_2743  IMG_2750

Ingredients

4 cups chickpeas, or 2 cans
1-2 tbsp ghee or other oil
2 medium onions halved and thinly sliced
4-5 dime-sized slices of ginger
4 cloves garlic
1 tsp dried chili flakes
1 1/2 tsp cumin seed
1/2 tsp turmeric
2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp fennel seeds
1 can diced tomatoes
1/2 a lemon, juiced
1/3 – 1/2 can of coconut milk
1/3 cup frozen peas
1/2 tsp garam masala

If you are using dried chickpeas (which I recommend) soak them over night, then wash them and boil them for a few hour, or until they are soft.
IMG_2734

In a large cast iron, or non stick pan heat the oil and add the onions.  Cook them on medium to low heat until they are translucent at this point add the garlic and the ginger.  Continue cooking on low heat until the onions start to brown.  After you add the garlic and ginger, start heating the tomato and the lemon juice to a medium sauce pan and heat on low.

IMG_2753 IMG_2755 IMG_2762_2

When the onions start to brown add the dried chili flakes, cumin seed, turmeric, ground coriander, and fennel seeds.  Continue cooking for a few minutes then add the onions and spices to the sauce pan with the tomatoes.  Mix together well and then add the chickpeas the coconut milk and the peas.  Mix well and let the chana masala cook on low for about 15 minutes or as long as you can I find that with indian food and spices the longer the cook together the better the flavor.  Add in the garam masala when you take the chana masala off the heat.

IMG_2761_2

Enjoy! And let me know if you have any questions!

This entry was published on March 6, 2015 at 6:26 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Non-Traditional Chana Masala

  1. Pingback: Chickpeas! | I and CLOVE and YOU

Leave a Reply

