Sweet Potato Flat Bread Pizza

This post makes it clear that I am a college student, from broken kitchen appliances to wine bottle rolling pins, when you’re in college you do the best with what you’ve got.  That said I recently moved into a new apartment on campus; an apartment with a kitchen!  This made me super happy because now I can cook for myself… and then blog about it.  This afternoon I was planning to use my oven for the first time to make sweet potato chips with rosemary for my new roommate and I, but my plan was foiled when the oven wouldn’t turn on!  While the rickety state of my college-owned apartment is frustrating, the upside is that I can call the resed and they will pay some one to come fix it for me.  The thing is, by the time I realized the oven didn’t work I had already slice up the sweet potato.

IMG_2630

In my opinion almost anything is good with sautéed onions and melted cheese so here is the solution I came up with:

IMG_2638  IMG_2680

Recipe:
(makes 3-4 pizzas)

1/2 tablespoons olive oil
2 small or 1 medium sweet potato thinly sliced into rounds
1 medium onion cut in half and then thinly sliced
2 cup spinach
1 cup grated or sliced cheese

Note: for the cheese I used a mixture of gruyere and cheddar that I bought at trader joes because I am a broke college student and figured that this way the cheese would work as both gruyere and cheddar… so far so good!

IMG_2647

Heat a cast iron or no-stick pan over medium heat.  Add the olive oil, onions, salt and pepper.  Stir occasionally.

After starting the onions pour enough water into a cast iron or non-stick pan to cover the bottom with about 1/2 a centimeter of water.  Turn the heat on low and add the sweet potato rounds and some salt and pepper.  Cover and cook for about 7 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes soften.  Remove the lid the led the water boil away and stirring frequently.  Once the water has mostly boiled away turn off the pan and add the sweet potatoes to the onions.

Add spinach to the sweet potatoes and onions stir until wilted.

IMG_2634

For the flat bread you can use a store bought tortilla or flat bread.  Here is the recipe I used to make the flat bread.  Its actually a tortilla recipe that makes great tortillas plus its quick and easy.  Unfortunately the closest thing I have to a rolling pin is a wine bottle so I couldn’t roll the dough out thing enough to make tortillas.  I was worried if I pushed to hard I would break it when rolling I would break the bottle.  I have used this recipe before though in my kitchen at home with my mom’s real rolling pin and the tortillas came out quite nicely.

IMG_2641

To assemble put one your tortillas in a pan on low.  Place sweet potato rounds on the tortilla then add the spinach and onions.  Finally sprinkle some of the grated cheese on top, then turn up the pan and put a lid on it until the cheese melts.  Alternatively assemble the pizza and then put it in the microwave for about 30 seconds, or until the cheese melts.

IMG_2682

So anyway, here’s to making it work in college!  Bon appetite and feel free to leave any questions or creative solutions you use while cooking!

This entry was published on February 19, 2015 at 1:33 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

