Momma’s Chickpea Stew

IMG_2571_2

Today was cloudy, rainy and cold. A soup day for sure. So I decided to make one of my childhood favorites: chickpea stew. I think this may be the first dinner I ever made.  In elementary school my grandma would come over after school once a week to take care of my brother and I and one  of those nights my mom was coming home late for work so my grandma and I cooked chickpea stew together. And by my grandma and I, I mean she probably did all the work and I the stirred the pot, but I remember being very proud.   Luckily my cooking skills have come along way since then and tonight I made chickpea stew on my own for the first time with my momma’s recipe.

You may notice that this recipe is not strictly vegetarian because of the anchovies. So, I have a confession to make, I’m technically a pescatarian. But this is probably the only time you will find me cooking with fish and I didn’t enjoy it.  They’re kind of slimy.  My mom always calls the anchovies the “secret ingredient” though, and she’s right, as moms are want to be. They add a depth to the flavor that makes this stew unique and delicious.

IMG_2597_2 IMG_2584_2

Recipe:

¼ cup olive oil (or enough to cover bottom of saucepan)
3 large cloves minced garlic
1 tin anchovies (chopped + oil)
1 cup chopped parsley
2 20 oz cans chickpeas
3 medium tomatoes (or 1 small can of diced tomatoes)
2 tsp dried rosemary
4 cups water
1 pound macaroni
salt and pepper to taste
grated parmesan or Romano cheese for garnish

Mince the anchovies and garlic parsley.  Heat the oil in a large saucepan; add garlic, anchovies and parsley. Cook over low heat for 5 minutes. Next add the rosemary and salt and pepper to taste. Then add undrained chickpeas, tomatoes, and water. Cover and cook the stew over low heat stirring frequently for 30 minutes. Finally, add the macaroni and cook for 5-10 minutes or until the pasta is done, stirring occasionally.

Serve hot with grated cheese sprinkled on top.

IMG_2604_2

Happy cooking and feel free to leave any questions!

This entry was published on February 12, 2015 at 1:21 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

