Provencal Savory Crepes

I am an experienced cook but inexperienced blogger.  This is my first post and I find myself a bit nervous.  I’ve actually been meaning to start this blog for a few months now.  I love cooking and I have been a serial food blog stalker for a few years now.  Anyways in college I haven’t had time to cook for myself as much as I would like let alone type a recipe and take infinite pictures.  This evening however, I found myself desperately searching for a way to escape reading my stats textbook so I set to work in my tiny college apartment kitchen making crepes for dinner.  I actually ate them for desert as well with Nutella.

IMG_2529  IMG_2552_2

Crepe Batter (makes about 10 crepes)

1 cup flour
2 eggs
¾ cup milk
3 tbsp. melted butter
½ cup water
¼ tsp. salt
Extra butter for cooking

IMG_2546_2       IMG_2542

Add the flour to a large mixing bowl. Beat the eggs then add into flour slowly, stirring until the egg is all incorporated. Add ¼ cup of the milk slowly mixing well. Add in the butter in two installments. Whisk until well combined. Add the rest of the milk, the water and the salt and mix well.  I actually added a little more than milk because my batter looked a little thick.

REFRIGERATE THE BATTER FOR AT LEAST AN HOUR
I put this in all caps because it is very important and I know I often ignore instructions like these, mostly because I’m impatient. However, if you don’t refrigerate the batter it will be much more likely to fall apart when you area making the crepes. The batter will last for about 48 hours in the fridge.

Take the batter out of the oven and heat a cast iron pan or a non-stick pan on high heat (you can turn it down later after the pan is hot). Add enough butter to cover the bottom of the pan (use can use canola oil as well but I find that butter make the crepes more light and crispy) and about 2 tbsp. of batter (I usually just eyeball it and how much you add will depend on how big your pan is). Swirl the batter around quickly so that it covers the bottom of the pan and then let sit until the edges start to brown and the middle starts to bubble. Flip the crepe over. I like to use a knife or a long thing spatula. After about 30 more seconds your crepe is probably done. Remove it from the heat.

When I made my savory crepes I turned the heat down after I flipped the crepe over and filled the crepe while it was still on the heat. I layered the cheese on first so that it would melt, then I added the mushrooms, onions, spinach, and sundried tomatoes and finally removed it from the heat.  Don’t worry when the first crepe (and maybe even the second) comes out as a squished mess.  I still ruin the first one every time.

IMG_2525_2

Filling (enough for about 4 crepes)

Caramelized Onions
1 medium onion thinly sliced
1-2 tbsp. Olive Oil
½ tsp. salt
Pepper to taste
Pinch of Herbs de Provence (optional)

Heat the oil in a cast iron or non-stick frying pan than add in the onions on low to medium low heat. Cook for about 40 minutes on low stirring occasionally. Add in the salt pepper and herbs and continue to cook until golden brown. Remove from heat and set aside.

IMG_2515_2IMG_2517_2

Sautéed Mushrooms
½ – ¾ cup mushrooms cleaned and sliced
½ tbsp. butter or olive oil (I prefer butter)

Heat a cast iron or non-stick pan and add butter or olive oil. Add mushrooms and sauté for about 4 minutes or until water from the mushrooms starts to bubble. Remove from heat and set aside.

Spinach
1 ½ cup spinach (I used frozen because that’s what I had but I would suggest fresh spinach)
salt and pepper to taste

Heat a cast iron or non-stick pan and add butter or olive oil add the spinach salt and pepper and sauté until the spinach is warmed (if frozen) or is wilted (if fresh)

Cheese
I used a mix of cheddar and gruyere thinly sliced.

Sundried tomato
2 tbsp chopped into small pieces

IMG_2524

Let me know if this works out for you and hopefully there will be more posts to come in the near future!

This entry was published on February 9, 2015 at 5:11 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

